Summary 1995 - 1996


President................... Philip Johns Club Service.................. Peter Caddy

Secretary.................. Alan Paterson Community Service....... Jim Gorey

President Elect......... Peter Caddy International.................. Gordon Chivell

Vice President.......... Mick Prest Vocational..................... Bill Akker

Treasurer.................. Dennis Coad Youth............................. Garth Zerbe


President Philip’s year has been rewarded by seeing his members involved in a very busy year in many fields of endeavour. Firstly our Club was awarded the South Australian Premiers Community Service Award for the Wheatlands Greening Project. This was particularly rewarding as Philip was the initial driving force behind the project and his trip to Parliament House to receive the award was a fitting climax to his involvement.

o The involvement by the club in a higher than usual fund raising work-load, enabled Philip to attain his goal of the presentation to The Port Pirie Hospital of a $15,000 portable Defibrillator. This was the first portable Defibrillator presented to any hospital in Australia. A memorable year for the first of our original Rotaractors to become our President. Six new members were inducted, however transfers and work commitments caused a loss of seven.

o A successful Bowls night was organised in January and proceeds went towards President Philip’s project. The ever popular Rotating dinner was held and the Annual Golf day was also held. The Community Service Committee, under Jim Gorey’s guidance, had a very busy year and raised $13,796 during the year. Our mobile Barbecue, Marquee and Mobile Stage were in great demand for a number of events. We combined again with Apex to hold a Food & Trade Fair in lieu of the Food Festival. This proved to be very popular. Again with Apex, we did the catering for the inaugural Flinders 400 Off Road Racing Event. These two functions raised $8250 for each club. Other fund raisers included collecting and selling cut firewood from Ron Johns farm, a Wine & Cheese night, manning the gate at the Athletic Carnival and a Smelters Picnic Stall. A portable power Generator was presented to the St John Brigade. A new Chip Cooker and a Kenwood Chef Mixer for our donut manufacture were purchased. Last year’s new equipment shed made all of these projects much easier to manage and usually resulted in an impromptu get-together at the end of the day, thus enhancing our fellowship. The control of the Shed has been in the capable hands of Maurice McBride and Gordon Martin.

o Our usual involvement in Student Exchange continued with Sophie de Vries going home to Holland and Sean Braid arriving from Canada. Emilie Moffat returned from Japan and Erin Munday left for Germany. Shortly after Melissa arrived from Brazil. Sarah Hallett-Patterson went to Hawaii, Sarah Manners to New Zealand and Angela Burrows came from New Zealand, on Short Term Exchange. We also hosted the Group Study Exchange Team from The Netherlands.

o The association with our sister club, the Rotary Club of Dau in the Philippines, continued strongly. Some of our Matching Grant money was used to purchase sewing machines and this year 120 pupils have been trained. At present we are in the process of applying for a further Matching Grant for the purchase of sewing material for the students.

The Vocational and Youth Committees were amalgamated into the Vocational Committee. Our club has been involved in sending worthy Candidates to Science & Engineering schools. Two students from St. Marks and one from Gladstone High School were selected. Adriana Dinca was chosen as our candidate to be a member of the crew of the “One & All” sail training ship. An interesting Vocational visit was arranged in August. After our regular meeting interested Rotarians visited Betta View Windows, Orana Workshop & Neptune Fibreglass factories. All who attended rated it an excellent Vocational activity.

o Other projects included helping the Drug Abuse Prevention Committee, “DEET” New Work Opportunity Committee. Citizenship Awards were presented two students, one from the John Pirie High School and one from St. Marks College. Belinda Taylor & Rebecca Weldon were chosen to attend this years RYLA Camp. Several unfinished projects are still in the pipeline for next year.

o Five Rotarians accompanied by their Rotary Anns attended the Rotary Conference in Alice Springs. Our Club was recognised for Community efforts and rewarded with the Phil Kearns Community Service Award. President Philip received it on behalf of the Club with considerable pride.

o The Annual Changeover dinner was a very special night this year. It was timed to be held as close as was practicable to the date of our Charter date so we could celebrate our 40th Birthday. Eighteen Past Presidents were present. The oldest still serving Past President, Frank Whitworth, cut the Birthday Cake. The evening was enhanced by the presence of the President of the Rotary Club of Dau, Joe Dizon and Past President “Sonny” Enriquez, who made a special trip from the Philippines to be with us on this special occasion. They presented an official Certificate to confirm us as a Sister Club to the Rotary Club of Dau.

o A Mayoral Reception was also arranged by our Mayor Ken Madigan, to coincide with our birthday, for the presentation of the Portable Defibrillator to the Port Pirie Hospital. President Philip made this presentation to the Chief Executive Officer, Roger Kirchner. Our two fellow Rotarians from the Philippines were also present and they received a presentation from Mayor Ken. The Mayor commended our Club for the valuable contribution it has made over the past 40 years to the City of Port Pirie and it’s citizens.


At the Annual Changeover Dinner President Philip made several Awards.


o Firstly Past President Frank Whitworth was presented with a Paul Harris Sapphire Award.

o Past Presidents Brian Tayler and Dino Gadaleta were awarded Paul Harris Fellowships.

o Hard working Jim Gorey was made Rotarian Of the Year.

o Gordon Chivell, Owen Crocker, Don Hausler, Philip Johns, Ron Johns, Warren Johns, Maurice McBride and Garth Zerbe were rewarded for attaining a perfect attendance record of 100%.